Quick Update

February 16, 2007 at 6:28 pm Leave a comment

Right, well now I’ve told you the purpose of this blog, I think I should give you an update on the last 3 weeks since my decision to make things happen. I joined a gym well over a year ago and actually, I was quite good at attending. I tried to get to the gym twice a week and I usually managed to. Along with this going to the gym, I also tried to be healthy and eat sensible food (no chocolate or cakes). This usually worked for a couple of days and then I would have a bad day at work or I would be bored and then I would completely give into temptation, go to the supermarket and buy lots of yummy food! Anything that I could see that I fancied at the time. It would usually be a mixture or something chocolatey and something fruity. Not only was it not enough that I was about to eat all of this, I would also consider buying something for later, after dinner, as a ‘treat’!

After eating all that rubbish, the next time I wanted to go to the gym, I just thought what’s the point? As I had eaten all that the day before, it really wasn’t worth it. So for the rest of the week I would follow the cycle of buying ‘treats’ from the supermarket to eat after breakfast, lunch and dinner. Then, a week later, I would get to the point where I wasn’t happy with my body and might have had a cry or a moan about my weight to my boyfriend and then we would talk it through and temporarily sort the problem. I would then be motivated to go to the gym again and the whole cycle would start again…does that make any sense at all? If not, that is precisely how it felt in my head. It was totally cinsuming. I would be thinking about what I am going to eat as a ‘treat’ before, during and after every meal and I wouldn’t be satisfied until I had my dose of sugar…I would then go about what I had to do thinking about the next ‘treat’.

Now this is when things changed, three weeks ago, I had another talk with my boyfriend and I was crying and telling him how upset I was and why my life was the way it is and he talked me through how he thinks (as a naturally thin person) and he asked me lots of questions (which he normally asked every time we had this kind of talk) along the lines of “why do you want to eat those treats?” I would always reply “because they make me happy, because I like them, because they cheer me up when I’m bored, sad tired”. This time, he just kept asking it and I kept saying my standard response, then I don’t know what clicked, but I suddenly realised that these ‘treats’ don’t actually make me happy…in fact they make me really depressed and they are the reason why I was crying.

So to cut a long story short, after that talk, I just felt really liberated. Now, I know that it has only been 3 weeks, but this time there is something different. I am sitting here writing this blog and being totally honest about something that has been bugging me for years. I have been to the gym 8 times over the last three weeks (I am aiming for 3 times a week) and I have cut out chocolates and other sugary/fatty foods and have just been eating my three main meals and also eating lots of fruit in between.

Now, I’m not saying it hasn’t been hard and I haven’t been badgering my boyfriend about there not being anything ‘intersting’ in the house to eat…but I have been good. In fact, for me, very good. I can’t believe I’m saying this but it feels right and normal! I am so much more relaxed, I just don’t think about eating that much anymore, well not all the crap that I used to eat and I have even been into the local supermarket and walked straight past the chocolate aisle! Now that is a brilliant result, isn’t it?

So from now on I am going to try to keep you all updated on what I’m doing, how I am finding this new approach to life and also give you weekly weigh-ins and possibly some photos so we can track the changes together (if I can bare to show you my flabby bits!).

I would love to hear from any of you out there that are struggling with becoming fit, firm and also holding back on enjoying their lives as well as people that have achieved their goal and how their lives have changed. Also, anyone with advice and support is greatly appreciated. Because I know it isn’t going to be easy and my boyfriend isn’t always at hand to coach me through it but I really need to do this and to carry on enjoying my life. Wish me luck!

You know what? I already have a smile on my face because I have started this blog and have written all of this out!

Entry filed under: Fitness, Food, Life.

Well…here we go! Who said Monday’s are blue?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Stat Counter

Blogtopsites.com

Health Blogs - Blog Top Sites

