Who said Monday’s are blue?

February 19, 2007 at 5:37 pm 2 comments

You might have noticed that I have added this week’s weigh-in to my blog and….I’ve lost weight! I can’t believe it. I’ve lost 3kg (6.6lbs) and after such a hard start 3 weeks ago, I am chuffed. I’ve been feeling so good since I weighed myself this morning that I have had a gigantic smile on my face all day, which has caused people to ask me why I am so happy when I have been in the shops – and I have been saying, it’s just a great day!

As it is Monday, it is gym day and I walked my usual 20 minute walk to the gym whilst thinking about how much I am enjoying this positive change in my life. I had my ipod on and was listening to Cesaria Evora, Gorillaz, Dizzy Rascal and Nina Simone and was walking in time with the music, does anyone else do that? I sometimes even break out into a mini dance, taking a double step here and a skip there whilst clicking my fingers and miming along, I enjoy the looks I get when people catch me mid-act.

As a treat to myself for losing weight last week, I had an extra hard work out. I spent 10 mins on a really hard cardio programme on the bike and 6 minutes on the rowing machine. I then headed to the weights section and started doing my usual reps on the various machines. I was sweating throughout and quite enjoyed the fact that the weights area wasn’t full of people today so I could relax. The finale was a 20 minute jog on the treadmill whilst listening to tracks that always get me motivated and moving (including The Chemical Brothers, Rage Against the Machine, White Stripes, Plastic Bertrand, Talking Heads and many others).

I am now thinking of stepping up my gym workouts and mixing visits to the gym with some exercise classes and maybe swimming. I also think I need to get a book or find a website with some workout tips and lessons as I think I need some advice on what I’m doing and what muscle groups I should be working. If anyone knows of any good websites or books, please let me know, would be great to hear from any of you who has got a great workout routine that works as well.

Anyways…I am off now as I have to cook dinner before I go and see a flat tonight with my boyfriend. The count down is on now, our landlord has sold our flat and so we’re on the hunt for a new place. We have to be out by the end of March so we have been looking at flats and talking to estate agents – oh the joys!

I’m hoping that I am able to celebrate again next Monday but for now…I am going to enjoy this loss and have dance to Happy Mondays: 24 Hour Party People.

I’ll update on the flat hunt tomorrow…fingers crossed!

Happy Mondays – 24 Hour Party People

________

Walking: 20 minutes fast

Gym: 1 hour and 10 minutes (mixture of weights and cardio)

Entry filed under: Fitness, gym, Life, weight loss.

Quick Update Don’t dilly dally on the way

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bigbabybigblog  |  March 1, 2007 at 12:53 pm

    hey.. way to go! congratalations on your painless weight lost. I am happy for you.

    Reply
  • 2. fff  |  March 22, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    Thanks for your comment. You don’t know how greatly appreciated your encouragement is. So far, it really has been painless weight loss (unless you count hard sessions in the gym, the stiff walking afterwards and the cravings) but I have managed to do it without going on any stupid diets or calorie counting. I’ll keep checking your blog to see what your upto.

    Thanks again!
    FFF

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Stat Counter

Blogtopsites.com

Health Blogs - Blog Top Sites

