Don’t dilly dally on the way

February 21, 2007 at 5:31 pm 2 comments

After a brilliant start to the week, Tuesday went really well. I even went to the cinema and didn’t fancy eating anything there…I was very proud of myself after walking straight passed the popcorn and chocolate, it felt great not to be in need of something to eat whilst watching the film.

I am feeling a bit under the weather today and so I was really tired all morning, but I went to the gym today, after setting off late I had to catch the bus to the gym and once I got there I realised I really wasn’t in the mood for it at all. I tried my best and spent 10 minutes on the bike and then was on the treadmill for 20 minutes. I then just couldn’t muster up the energy to do anything else, so I made a pact with myself to walk home instead and also go to the supermarket and carry some heavy shopping home with me to make up for my dreadful attempt at working out in the gym.

I’m not sure if I’m the only one that feels like this, but when my schedule delays, I can’t seem to get motivated to carry on regardless and the gym is one of the things that always gets pushed to one side. Although, I must say, I do always have in the back of my mind, the aim of at least 2 days at the gym. So there is still hope for Friday. The walk home was great and the weather was gorgeous so I definitely made the right decision. I have just had a long soak in the bath whilst reading so it has helped me feel a bit better.

One of my work colleagues and friends is having a leaving do tomorrow and we are all going bowling and karaoke. So I am aiming to lift some heavy bowling balls and burn some calories on those bowling lanes tomorrow night. Oh and watch out, I might even let the diva out when singing karaoke!

Oh and we’re still looking for a flat. The one we saw on Monday night was perfect but the landlord just won’t budge when we tried to bargain for the monthly rent. Shame, because we would have been great tenants.

Entry filed under: fit, Fitness, gym, Gym Stories, health and fitness, motivation.

Who said Monday’s are blue? The Jean Genie

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. totaltransformation  |  February 21, 2007 at 6:19 pm

    “I am feeling a bit under the weather today and so I was really tired all morning”

    Don’t you hate that! I am two weeks into my weight loss program and my nasal drip is acting up. Nothing worse than a sore throat.

    -J. Kaiser

    Reply
  • 2. E. White  |  July 31, 2008 at 10:25 am

    You should try to get to the gym 5 times a week. That way, if you only make it 4, or worse 3, then you are limiting the amount at which you drop off. This way, you won’t cease going altogether.

    Your workout should consist of weights first – legs, then chest, shoulders and arms, finally abs.

    Then cardio.

    I would also suggest trying to get two pyramid sessions into each workout. Also, try to use compound moves and supersets. Instinct training is great for core and abs. You can wikipedia all that to get the detail.

    After you can do your cardio which will feel much, much harder due to depleted glycogen stores in your muscles. Eliptical trainers are very cool because they get you to use everything. Remember to clench your core and abs as you do the excersises. That way you’re getting more out of it.

    You should also have a whey protein shake before and immediately after each gym session. This way you are giving your muscles exactly what they need, when they need it. Within 30 minutes of your gym session try to have some carbs – bananas are great.

    Follow these simple mantras – eat for what you’re going to do, not for what you’ve done. Eat like a King for breakfast, Prince for lunch and a Pauper for dinner. Don’t over do breakfast when going to the gym straight after – cereal and coffee, mb a banana.

    Coffee is important before a work out as it increases your body’s thermobolic reaction to excersise. It also makes you a little psycho and gives you the motivation to lift bigger.

    In a nutshell, you want to be loading carbs throughout the day. Pasta, starches etc. 4pm is your cut off point after which you cannot have carbs period. No excuses. Try to snack so that you’re having 6 small meals a day rather than three big ones. Eat only good fats – omega 3s from oily fish and flaxseed etc. Avocados are wonderful with a little bit of french dressing.

    Do the above and in 4 weeks, I promise you will notice a big difference!

    Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Stat Counter

Blogtopsites.com

Health Blogs - Blog Top Sites

