Like a Rolling Stone

March 5, 2007 at 4:21 pm 4 comments

I have just got back from the gym after a great workout. My weigh-in wasn’t that brilliant today, I lost 0.5kg/1lbs which is better than nothing but at least I am now on the 15 Stone mark! After weighing myself this morning, I felt a bit down, after my success the last few weeks and having gone to the gym 3 times last week, I expected a better result. I know that I still need to cut down my portions at dinner time, I am usually so hungry by the time we eat dinner, I eat too much. So I still need to work on my portion sizes and I also need to find some healthy meals to cook throughout the week to keep the weight loss working.

I have also been thinking that as I usually do a mixture of cardio and weight training in the gym, I may be building muscle which is heavier than fat. So if this is the case, in time, I should gain from having more muscle as it increases my metabolic rate and I will need more energy to to everyday things and in turn lose more weight! So, I can definitely feel my thigh muscles getting more defined and my calves. After the weigh-in this morning, I checked several websites to see what it says about gaining muscle and weight loss and they confirmed what I was thinking. Now I just need to work on different muscles in my body and make sure I use them all otherwise I could injure myself. I think I need to buy a book or find a website with information on the right way to weight train. Any ideas anyone?

I cam across this website this morning whilst looking at weight training and understanding how muscles work. I found this ‘Muscle Game’ quite fun: http://www.bbc.co.uk/science/humanbody/body/index_interactivebody.shtml

I am finding it quite hard to be happy today as I really did expect a larger weight loss – but I keep thinking about how well I’ve done and how proud I am going to be once I’ve reached my target weight (which I haven’t set yet). I was listening to Bob Dylan on the way back from the gym and the lyrics to his song ‘Like a Rolling Stone’ made me think, in particular the section below:

“When you got nothing, you got nothing to lose
You’re invisible now, you got no secrets to conceal.

How does it feel
How does it feel
To be on your own
With no direction home
Like a complete unknown
Like a rolling stone?”

And that is how I feel, I have got nothing to lose by carrying on this healthy lifestyle and I have started to share my thoughts and feelings online here with you all and I would have so much to lose if I gave up and went back to how I was 5 weeks ago…so I will keep going and will do my best to make sure I lose a bit more weight next week!

Bob Dylan – Like a Rolling Stone

__________

20 minutes fast walk to the gym

10 minutes on bike

40 minutes weight training

15 minutes cross trainer

5 minutes stretching

10 minutes walk with heavy shopping home

Total: 1hr 40mins

Entry filed under: exercise, fit, Fitness, gym, health and fitness, Life, motivation, weight loss.

Neighbours, everybody needs good neighbours… She bangs, she bangs…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. loseweightwithme  |  March 5, 2007 at 11:18 pm

    Congratulations on your results!

    Don’t be disappointed in what the scale says. What’s more important…the way you look or how much you weigh?

    As far as the best way to work out, I’d recommend circuit training if you’re looking to burn fat and build some muscle.

    On the days I do strength training, I do 4 circuits hitting each muscle group with 1 exercise each circuit. I do not rest between exercises, but I do stretch for about 30 seconds between circuits. Naturally, drink water frequently.

    Training this way will get the heart pumping, the sweat dripping, and the fat burning…I promise!

    Brian

    Reply
  • 2. fff  |  March 5, 2007 at 11:56 pm

    Thanks Brian, your comment and encouragement is greatly appreciated. I was feeling quite low about the weight loss but I have looked back at what I ate last week and I think my portions on several occasions were too big. I’m still learning I suppose.

    Also, thanks for the advice on circuit training. I’m going to get some books on it and see what muscles to train and how.

    Reply
  • 3. Matt Carter  |  July 12, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    Hi there, it’s been a little while since your replied to the post on this page. Just wondering how your research and finding “what muscles to train and how” is working out for you.
    I agree with Brian, the short-sharp high intensity bursts of circuit training can play a really pivotal part in weight loss and strength training program.

    If you’d like a complete approach, where pretty much everything is spelled out, and you need only follow along, dot the ‘t’s and cross the ‘is’s, then Vince DelMonte’s strength training program may be worth looking at.

    Very best to you in reaching your targets.

    Matt
    http://www.honestmusclegain.com

    Reply
  • 4. Matt  |  July 17, 2007 at 8:56 am

    One step at a time, and you’ll get there. During the time I’ve worked with clients wanting to lose weight I’ll often advise they don’t look at the scales at all during the program. Just as Brian suggests, how you personally look and feel about yourself are far more important than the digit reading on a set of scales on any given day.

    Weight loss – when done correctly and for the long term – is a gradual and progressive process. You may well notice yourself making more progress one week than you do on another, but the main thing is that you keep doing the daily ‘small tasks’ that cumulatively add up to significant achievements.

    If you’re looking for a defined and clear-cut approach to weight training, to go along with your daily activities, then this weight training program may be worth a look.

    Very best to you in achieving your goals,
    Matt Carter
    http://www.honestmusclegain.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Stat Counter

Blogtopsites.com

Health Blogs - Blog Top Sites

