I’ve been gyming it like mad

April 18, 2008 at 1:53 pm 2 comments

Since the start of my new fitness regime two weeks ago, I have been back at the gym. I manage to get roughly 40 minutes in before work in the mornings. As i felt slightly unfit, due to the lack of gym activity for a few months, I started on week 1 with just 2 days and then on the second week I managed to get a 3rd day in. It’s my aim now to stay at this rate and try and get three 40 minute sessions in a week.

I do however feel that I need some advice. I would love to have a session with a trainer to see what I should be doing and trying to make the most out of my 40 minute sessions. I try and do 15 minutes of cardio and then the rest weights. I focus the weight activity on the legs one morning, arms another and then on the third morning all body. Not very accurate, but that’s what I’m hoping to sort out soon

I really enjoyed my extra long session today as I had the day off work and so spent an hour working out. I ran for 15 minutes on the treadmill and also did 10 minutes on the cross trainer. I then went downstairs and did some weights, focussing on my legs and stomach and then made my way home for a nice long, warm shower.

There was this really weird and annoying guy in the gym today though, he stood at the treadmill and turned the speed right up so that it was scarily fast and then jumped on and ran for a couple of minutes at a time, with stops in between. He looked in real pain and was totally out of breath. It can’t be good, can it?

I was running at approx 8km/h and managed 2km…now I’m not sure how good that is, I suspect it isn’t very good, but it felt the right speed and I was sweating loads.

Any tips/ideas on what I should do in the gym to maximise weight loss and increase body toning, welcome!

Entry filed under: exercise, Fitness, gym, Gym Stories, motivation, Uncategorized.

I’m back and so is the weight Early Morning Gym Bliss

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DR  |  April 18, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    Take a look here

    http://www.t-nation.com/readArticle.do?id=1764218

    This site is geared towards bodybuilders, but they have some fantastic articles. This is for beginners.

    I will be posting programs on my blog http://fitnessmadesimple.wordpress.com/ soon.

    Regarding the guy on the treadmill, I would guess he is performing some form of interval training. If you type in HIIT in the search box on the t-nation site, you should find more info.

    Good luck

    Reply
  • 2. fff  |  April 18, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    Thanks for your comment DR. I’m definitely going to be reading your blog and looking out for tips and programmes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Stat Counter

Blogtopsites.com

Health Blogs - Blog Top Sites

